You Know You’re On Your Way to Being a Dot Com Mogul When…

So today, I got a strange call from some ad network that I had never heard of. I could have just ignored it, but for some reason, I thought it was a good idea to call. When I called the person back, they said something about me faxing them a W8 and wanting to confirm my account. I’m like, “Excuse me? I’ve never heard of you guys?”

Apparently, the idiot that runs this site couldn’t get on with the network probably because he’s not a real company, even though at the bottom of the site it says “LLC” which is obviously false as well. He forged my information onto the W8 form, and tried to sign up for the network by impersonating a well established site like Futurelooks.

Now if he’s using MY information, then how is he going to get paid? Well, all he would need to do, now that he has his foot in the door, is just login to his new advertising account and change the information back to his real name. It makes you wonder just how many sites he’s taken advantage of.

For those of you that want him called out, a quick search on the WHOIS directory revealed this:

peng yu
peng yu (webmaster@bestcube.com)
+1.4687129693
Fax: +1.4687129693
360 Willibrord,Apt304
Verdun, Quebec H4G 2T6
CA

Well, Peng Yu, if that’s your real name, you’re a criminal and you should be prosecuted for fraud and idenitity theft. Don’t leave the country!


| Posted in: Futurelooks, Yakking


Good Post Huh? Here Are a Few More You Might Like!
A Few Of My Favourite Things - Get Paid to Show Them On Your Blog!

RSS feed

2 Comments

Comment by Fluxx
2006-03-08 10:47:18

Did you call the RCMP? Because it looks to me like a cut and dried case of identity theft…get this useless troglodyte nailed dude.

 
Comment by Stephen
2006-03-08 11:12:08

Not yet. I probably should, but I’m foggy on what I would need to put this guy in his place. The only information I have is that an advertising company in the US received a forged W8 from this guy to open a publishers account. Guess I should get that faxed over to me including the application first.

 

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.